The Signal Tribune newspaper

Filed under The Campaign Trail

The Campaign Trail

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The filing period for Long Beach City Council seats closed on Friday, Jan. 13 at 5pm. The following incumbents and challengers have qualified as candidates in the April 2012 election: Janet Ballantyne, Mike Kamer and Vice Mayor Suja Lowenthal for the 2nd district; Daryl A. Supernaw and John Watkins for the 4th district, with current 4th District Councilmember Patrick O’Donnell runing as a write-in candidate; incumbent Councilmember Dee Andrews will run unopposed to again represent the 6th district; and Al Austin II, Lillian Kawasaki and Gustavo Rivera will vie for the 8th district seat. At press time, incumbent 8th District Councilmember Rae Gabelich had not announced her intention to run as a write-in candidate. The filing period for write-in candidates will last from Feb 13 to March 27. The newly elected councilmembers will assume office on July 17, 2012.

Ricardo Linarez recently announced endorsements for his bid for the Long Beach Unified School District Board of Education, District 2. According to an email sent by Linarez, he has attained the endorsements of 5th District Councilmember Gerrie Schipske and former Long Beach Vice Mayor and former Harbor Commissioner Doris Topsy-Elvord.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
Serving Bixby Knolls, California Heights, Los Cerritos, Wrigley and Signal Hill
The Campaign Trail