The Signal Tribune newspaper

Filed under Community

Three local teens competing to be Youth of the Year

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Three Long Beach teenagers will compete for the title of Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach Youth of the Year at a dinner on Thursday, Nov. 14. The event, which will take place at 6pm at The Grand, 4101 E Willow St., will allow the youths to share their stories of overcoming obstacles and achieving success with the help of the Boys & Girls Clubs.
“The evening promises to be entertaining and inspiring,” said the Clubs’ executive director, Don Rodriguez. “We are looking forward to recognizing the accomplishments of our youth and dedicated supporters.”
The evening’s winner will go on to compete on the state level and could proceed to the regional level. Ultimately, five regional winners contend for the title of National Youth of the Year— the highest honor a Boys & Girls Club member can receive.
Youth of the Year recognizes outstanding contributions to a member’s family, school, community and Boys & Girls Club, as well as personal challenges and obstacles overcome. As the national program sponsor, Tupperware Brands awards each state winner a $1,000 college scholarship and each regional winner a $10,000 scholarship. The national winner receives an additional scholarship up to $50,000 from The Rick and Susan Goings Foundation.
The local candidates are all high-school seniors and include: Savajae Bolds, 17, from Cabrillo High School; Leigh Graham, 17, from Jordan High School; and Metita Tuileata, 17, from Jordan High School.
The event will also honor Cheryl Fox and the Ackerman Family for their service to the Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach.
Tickets are $100 each and can be purchased online at .

Source: Boys & Girls Clubs

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Serving Bixby Knolls, California Heights, Los Cerritos, Wrigley and Signal Hill
Three local teens competing to be Youth of the Year